Brownie, Marshmallow and Rice Krispie Treat Bars

20130716_205142

Shall I be honest with you? This bar was a complete experiment that paid off.

Usually, if I’m trying something new out in the kitchen, I don’t take pictures because I know it won’t go on the blog if it doesn’t work; I swear to myself this is just a test. But let’s just say, I was feeling pretty adventurous, and I decided to track my progress through this recipe juuuussssttt in case it paid off.

And dayyumm did it pay off

20130716_205334

Basically, these bite-sized bars are a layer of brownie, topped with a layer of toasted marshmallows and then completed with chocolate rice krispie treats…

Do you feel like crying? I feel like crying.

But although I guarantee a river of tears as you bite into these, I promise they will be worth every tear. Did I take the crying metaphor too far? Probably. Bare with me, chocolate makes me excited.

I originally got the inspiration from Sally’s Baking Addiction – one of my all time favourite blogs.

20130716_205311

I have a habit of gliding through the recipe index of my favourite food blogs whenever I have some free time – because I’m such a nerdy foodie – and I happened to, although just for one divine moment, glide across a little something that looked like this.

Thank you, Sally. I bow down to your amazing imagination.

And so, from that beautiful picture, I decided to create my own brownie krispie-marshamllowy-bitey-thingys; you follow?  Make these, I promise you they are as beautiful as they look.

20130716_161852

Oooo that brownie layer… Pop that baby into the oven and, as soon as it comes out, place the marshmallows on top. Pop them under the grill for 30 seconds to toast them off…

20130716_165326

Squish those beauties down to cover the surface of the cooked brownie and then… (yep, it’s not over yet…)

20130716_170159

Mix your rice krispies with your molten milk chocolate then smother them on top… Let it cool, and chill in the fridge, and what to you end up with?

20130716_204800

Do you love me for this? I love me for this.

My recipe; for the brownie layer:

  • 3 free range eggs
  • 165g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 165g unsalted butter
  • 200g (good quality) dark chocolate
  • 3 (heaping) tbsp plain flour
  • 1 (heaping) tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 12 large marshmallows

For the rice krispie layer:

  • 100g of rice krispies 
  • 400g milk chocolate

First melt the butter and the chocolate on a double boiler until both have melted and combined. Take off the heat and leave to cool. Preheat the oven to gas mark 5/190°C/375°F then grease and line a rectangular baking tray well – you need to be able to get these babies out.

Beat the eggs until frothy, then add the sugar and beat again until the mixture has thickened. Add the vanilla extract and beat again to incorporate. Pour in your cooled butter and chocolate mixture and combine everything together. Add the flour and the cocoa powder, beat until just combined – do not over mixture your batter. Brownie bread does not sound appealing, amirite?

Transfer the mixture to your baking tray and bake in the preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the brownies comes out clean. Whilst the brownies are in the oven, cut your marshmallows in half.

When the brownies are done, take them out of the oven and onto a wire rack. Immediately place the marshmallows on top and place the tray under the grill for 30 secs to toast the marshmallows. When the marshmallows have obtained a golden brown top, take them out and smush down (smush; to press down lightly on a squishy object to expand the surface area of said object) so that all of the toasted marshmallows are touching – like a bed of melted marshmallows – yummy.

Then make the rice krispie treats. In a large bowl, add melted milk chocolate to the rice krispies and fold together to combine. Spoon the mixture on top of the brownies and marhsmallows (spreading over evenly) then leave to cool at room temp for 1 hour.

After the hour, take the bars out of their tin, and allow to cool completely at room temperature for a further 2 hours. Transfer the bars to the fridge and chill for another 2 hours. SO MUCH WAITING URGH.

Finally, take them out of the fridge, cut into bite-size squares and eat! 

Oh my…

20130716_205428

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ana Fernandez
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 16:27:10

    oh my God! this looks just perfect. The marshmallow makes it look extra chewy and delicious! Yum yum yum

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Izy Hossack - Top With Cinnamon

Awesome Recipes from London Student, Izy Hossack

cinnamon freud

trials and therapy of a self taught cook

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

The After School Cake Tin

Crusading to keep the family cake tin full to the brim with healthy and sugary treats for hungry children

Nate Makes Cookies

Baking through the Martha Stewart app

the Goodie Plate

comfort food with health in mind

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

THE L.A. VIEWS

Thoughts & Essays on Film

