Millionaire’s Shortbread (Twix Bars)

20130617_172310

Yep. I am completely 100% aware that I have been totally lazy with posting on my blog recently. It’s not that I haven’t been baking, it’s just that I haven’t had the opportunity to put my baked goods through a photo-shoot, edit my pictures and type up a post.

Basically, June means University Open Days, and boy, have I been attending my fair share. So – without going into a loooonnnggg description about how tired I am and how amazing/completely rubbish these Uni’s are – I haven’t had the chance to share with you some really awesome recipes. 

20130616_100818

And so, considering I haven’t blogged in ages, I’ma come back with a SMASH-BANG-WALLOP in all of y’all’s faces! LOOK AT THESE BEAUTIES!

20130630_203704

You can’t go wrong when you’ve got shortbread, caramel and two types of chocolate combined into one sexy mouth-full of deliciousness. Some of you may know these as Twix Bars, us Brit’s know them as Millionaire’s Shortbread (rich shortbread, a pretty accurate description).

20130630_151750

Did I paint my nails a super pretty colour just for you guys? Maybe. Yes.

If you ask anyone that knows me well, I am by no means one to toot my own horn, but let’s just say that I’ve had many people requesting these bars AND telling me that they are by farrr better than the shop bought crud (or, y’know, *cough* Starbucks’ *cough*). Trust me when I tell you that these are gorgeous and that you will adore this recipe. And also, CHOCOLATE; I do not envy American’s. You guys don’t have easy access to Cadbury’s milk chocolate. If I were you I might cry.

20130630_170530

Yes, it’s sad, but these small bars make me so happy. They’re fun and simple to make. If you don’t love them already, this recipe will surely make you love them as much as I do, I promise (and if you still don’t, I am dreadfully sorry, but there must be something wrong with you).

Swirly, swirly, pretty and easy.

20130616_190905

Recipe:

  • 225g plain flour
  • 175g unsalted butter (chilled and diced)
  • 75g caster sugar

For the topping:

  • 75g unsalted butter
  • 75g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 1 x 397g can of condensed milk
  • 200g Cadbury’s Dairy Milk chocolate
  • 50g white chocolate

Preheat your oven to gas mark 5/190/375. Grease a rectangular baking tray and line with greaseproof paper; make sure you leave some greaseproof overlapping to make getting the bars out of the tray.

Place your flour and butter in a large bowl and rub together using the tips of your fingers – do this until you achieve a breadcrumb consistency. Stir in your sugar and knead into a smooth ball. Press the shortbread into the prepared tin and bake in the oven for 30 minutes, or until you see the top brown lightly.

While that’s in the oven, you can get started on the caramel. Place the butter, sugar and condensed milk in a saucepan and cream them together until all of the ingredients are combined. Place the (uncooked) caramel on a low heat and watch it like a hawk, stirring the mixture constantly until the caramel comes up to a boil, changes to a light brown colour and becomes thick. Take the shortbread out of the oven, cover the top of the shortbread with your caramel and spread it out to create an even level.

Pop that baby into the fridge and let it cool for 2 whole hours (tough, I know).

When the shortbread and caramel are suitably cold, take it out of the fridge. Melt the milk and white chocolate separately. Pour the milk chocolate all over the top of the caramel and spread it evenly. Drizzle over the white chocolate and, using the bottom end of a spoon, swirl the two chocolates together to make it look all pretty and nice. Pop it back in the fridge for another 2 hours (whyyyyy??) to set the chocolate.

When everything is set, take it out of the fridge and cut up into small pieces to enjoy immediately.

20130630_203329

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. johncpicardi
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 16:39:21

    Those looks sooooo good… Thanks John

    Reply

Leave a comment

cinnamon freud

trials and therapy of a self taught cook

The After School Cake Tin

Crusading to keep the family cake tin full to the brim with healthy and sugary treats for hungry children

Nate Makes Cookies

Baking through the Martha Stewart app

the Goodie Plate

comfort food with health in mind

femme.diabolique

movie enthusiasts