Oat and Banana Bundt Cake

20130420_165009

I have a confession to make. Recently, I had an accident with a razor blade that landed me in A&E for 3 hours and with 6 stitches in my finger. It’s achey, and so painful, so I felt like I needed to bake to make myself feel better about the circumstances I am now under.

I have never made anything that’s gluten free (yeah, that’s right, it’s gluten-free!) and so this recipe was a total experiment. Instead of using regular all-purpose flour, I ground up old-fashioned porridge oats (in my dad’s gorgeous new spice grinder) into a fine powder to add to the batter. This “oat flour” gives the cake a b-e-a-utiful light texture as well as an unbelievable and unique flavour.

A lot of people don’t like banana in baked goods (which I don’t fully understand), but the banana in this recipe, I believe, is essential. The oat flour makes the cake more dry than if you were to use normal flour, and so the fudgy, lovelyness of the banana’s is what makes the cake gorgeously moist. The oat flavour isn’t over-powering at all, it is incredibly subtle, but it gives the cake a scrumptious je ne sais quoi?

I am not a fan of letting machines do my baking for me, and usually I’m one of those “if you didn’t use your hands, it isn’t worth jack” people. But, considering the damage done to my poor index, my TEFAL Kitchen Machine was the perfect aid.

Okay, here’s the recipe:

  • 150g unsalted butter
  • 150g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 3 free-range eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200g oat flour (made by grinding the oats in a spice grinder)
  • 2 tsps gluten-free baking powder
  • 2 medium ripe bananas

Start by preheating your oven to gas mark 5/190/375. Grease a bundt tin (I used a silicon round one) and set it aside for later usage.

Place your butter into a saucepan and set over a medium heat until it’s all melted. In a large bowl, combine your two sugars and add the melted butter. Beat the two together until well combined. Add your 3 eggs and the vanilla extract; beat again until all is combined. Using a fork, smash up your banana’s (this is a good stress/anger buster) until you’re left with a sloppy mess in a bowl that looks soooooo appetising (it doesn’t, but it tastes good). Add the messy banana to the batter and stir in.

Sift in (it’s tedious, but the lumps in the oat flour will be a nuisance to incorporate, so it’s best) the oat flour and the baking powder then fold everything together. Transfer your batter into your tin and place in the centre of the oven to bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre if the cake comes out clean (bar a few wet crumbs).

20130420_151525

20130420_160140

Leave your cake to cool for a little bit then ease it out onto a wire rack to cool completely… or you can eat it straight away… I did.

20130420_221653

Leave a Reply

Izy Hossack - Top With Cinnamon

Awesome Recipes from London Student, Izy Hossack

cinnamon freud

trials and therapy of a self taught cook

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

The After School Cake Tin

Crusading to keep the family cake tin full to the brim with healthy and sugary treats for hungry children

Nate Makes Cookies

Baking through the Martha Stewart app

the Goodie Plate

comfort food with health in mind

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

THE L.A. VIEWS

Thoughts & Essays on Film

